Nigeria // //

Hope Odidika Uzodinma

Executive Governor

Chinyere Ekomaru

Deputy Governor


Imo State lies within latitudes 4°45’N and 7°15’N, and longitude 6°50’E and 7°25’E with an area of around 5,100 sq km. It is bordered by Abia State on the East, by the River Niger and Delta State on the west, by Anambra State to the north and Rivers State to the south. Besides Owerri, Imo State’s major towns are Isu, Okigwe, Oguta, Orlu, Mbaise, Mbano, Mbieri, Orodo and Orsu.

Economic Profile

The State is rich in natural resources including crude oil, lead, zinc, white clay, fine sand, limestone and natural gas in commercial quantities. The state also produces agricultural produce such as palm produce, cocoa and rubber. The main staple crops are yam, cassava, cocoyam and maize.





Major Cities

Ethnic Profile
Imo state is a predominantly Igbo speaking state, with Igbo people constituting a majority of 98%.
Local Govt Areas
Imo State is made up of 27 Local Government Areas: Aboh Mbaise; Ehime Mbano; Ezinihitte; Ideato North; Ideato South; Ihitte/Uboma; Ikeduru; Isiala Mbano; Isu; Mbaitoli; Ngor Okpala; Njaba; Nkwerre; Nwangele; Obowo; Oguta; Ohaji/Egbema; Okigwe; Onuimo; Orlu; Orsu; Oru East; Oru West; Owerri Municipal; Owerri North; Owerri West.