Head of the Civil Service of the Federation

Head of the Civil Service of the Federation

Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan is a Dental Surgeon. Educated at the prestigious University of Ibadan, Nigeria, she graduated as best Bachelor of Dental Surgery student in 1987. She later earned a Certificate in Health Planning and Management and Master’s Degree in Public and International Administration both with distinctions.

She started her career at the Federal Ministry of Health and rose to become a Director. During her service at the Ministry, she served in different positions, among them – Coordinator of Oral Health in Schools Programme, Liaison officer West Africa Health Organization (WAHO) and Director, Health Planning Research and Statistics.

Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan, rose to the position of Federal Permanent Secretary in 2012 serving first as Permanent Secretary, Service Policy and Strategy Office in the Office of the Head of Civil Service of the Federation and thereafter Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Information, where she led the professional development of efforts aimed at a positive management of Nigeria’s reputation and perception both locally and at the international arena.

She also served as Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education where she chaired, the committees for the appointment of rectors and provosts into selected Federal Polytechnics and Federal Colleges of Education respectively (in the absence of council), and Permanent Secretary, Career Management Office (OHCSF) where she served as Secretary, Committee for the Selection Exercise of Permanent Secretaries in the Federal Civil Service.

Dr. Yemi-Esan was Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum Resources, where she was appointed as Director on the Boards of the Nigeria LNG and Bonny Gas Transport Ltd before her appointment as acting Head of the Civil Service of the Federation on Thursday, 19th September, 2019.

President Muhammadu Buhari confirmed Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan’s appointment as Head of Civil Service of the Federation on Friday, 28th February, 2020. She was sworn into office on 4th March, 2020.