Federal Ministry of Transportation

Federal Ministry of Transport
Dipcharima House,
Central Business District,
P.M.B. 0336,Garki – Abuja.Nigeria.
Telephone: +234 9 2347451
Fax: +234 9 2347453
Website: http://www.transport.gov.ng

Hon. Rotimi Amaechi
Honourable Minister of Transportation 

Hon Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi was born on 27th May 1965 at Umuordu-Ubima in Ikwerre Local Government Area of Rivers State.Amaechi graduated from University of Port Harcourt where he obtained Bachelors and Masters Degree in English.He started work as a Public Relations Officer (PRO) with Pamo Clinics and Hospitals Ltd, Port Harcourt 1988.In 1992 Amaechi was appointed Special assistant to the Governor of Rivers State at that time, Chief Rufus Ada-George. He was also Personal assistant to the Deputy Governor of Rivers State, Sir Peter Odili.Rt Hon Chibuike Amaechi joined politics in 1999 under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). He emerged the Speaker, Rivers State House of assembly for two terms. He was elected Governor of Rivers State also for two terms during which he was Chairman, Nigerian Governors Forum from May 2011 to May 2015.

Hon. Gbemisola Saraki
Honourable Minister of State for Transportation


Federal Ministry of Transport is responsible for rail and marine transport and inter modern co-ordination. The mandate, policies, programmes and budgets of the ministry are implemented through the various agencies at the ministry which include Nigeria Railway Nigeria Ports Authority, Nigeria Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), Nigeria Shippers Council, National Inland Waterways Authority, Nigeria Institute of Transport Technology, Zaria and Maritime Academy of Nigeria, Oron.VISION:To evolve a world class transportation system in Nigeria and to position it as a hub in West and Central Africa.


To establish a safe, efficient, affordable and seamless intermodal transport system in line with global best practices while creating an enabling environment for Public Private Partnership.


National Clearing and Forwarding Agency

National Maritime Authority

Nigeria Ports Plc

Nigeria Railway Corporation (NRC)

Nigeria Shippers Council (NSC)