Federal Ministry of Science & Technology

Federal Secretariat Towers (5th & 9th floors),
Shehu Shagari Way, Central Area,
PMB 331, Garki, Abuja – Nigeria
Telephone: +234 9 523 3397
Fax: +234 9 523 5204
Website: www.scienceandtech.gov.ng

Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu
Minister of Science and Technology

Dr. Christopher Ogbonnaya Onu was born 64 years ago in Ebonyi State.
He attended Mary Knoll College, Ogoja, Cross River State, Izzi High School, Abakaliki, Ebonyi State and the College of Immaculate Conception, Enugu.
He obtained a First Class Honours Degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Lagos. He also obtained a Doctorate of Philosophy (PH.D) Degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of California, Berkeley.
For a brief period, he was a Teaching assistant at the Department of Chemical Engineering at his alma mater, University of California, Berkeley. He was also a member of the Research Centre of Western Electric Corporation in Princeton, New Jersey, USA.
On his return to Nigeria, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu became the pioneer Head of Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Port Harcourt, Rivers State.
Dr. Onu was a former Governor of Old Abia State, made up of today’s Abia and Ebonyi States.
He has also been National Chairman of the defunct All Nigerian Peoples Party (ANPP), a position he held until the party teamed up with other progressive parties to form the governing All Progressives Congress (APC).

Hon. Barr. Mohammed H. Abdullahi
Minister of State for Science and Technology


The Federal Ministry of Science and Technology is a statutory organ of Government with the responsibility to direct activities in the Science and Technology Sector including liaison with International and National Organizations. The Ministry supervises researches in the areas of Biotechnology, Space, Industrial Technology, Engineering Materials and Information Technology.

Planned and guided Research and Development (R&D) in all areas of Science and Technology with particular emphasis on areas where the country has clearly defined comparative advantages in human as well as material resources.

The vision of the Ministry is to make Nigeria, in the nearest future, an acknowledged member of the fast developing Scientific and Technologically progressive nations of the world and to be Africa’s leader in scientific and technological development

National Board For Technology Incubation (NBTI)
Energy Commission of Nigeria (ECN)
The Nigerian Institute of Science Laboratory Technology (NISLT)
Nigerian Institute For Trypanosomiasis And Onchocerciasis (NITR)
National Biotechnology Development Agency (NABDA)
National Centre For Technology Management (NACETEM)
National Office For Technology Acquisition And Promotion (NOTAP)
Nigerian Natural Medicine Development Agency (NNMDA)
National Space Research & Development Agency (NARSDA)
Raw Materials Research and Development Council (RMRDC), Abuja
Nigerian Building and Road Research Institute (NBBRI)
National Institute of Leather Science and Technology (NILEST), Zaria
National Research Institute for Chemical Technology (NARICT), Zaria
Sheda Science and Technology Complex (SHESTCO), Abuja
Project Development Institute (PRODA), Enugu
Federal Institute of Industrial Research, Oshodi (FIIRO)
National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure (NASENI), Abuja