Federal Ministry of Justice

Ministry of Justice
Shehu Shagari Way,
Central Area, Abuja FCT Abuja
email: [email protected]
website: http://justice.gov.ng/
Tel: 09-5235208, 09-5237676, 09-5235194

Hon. Abubakar Malami
Honourable Minister of Justice/Attorney General

Born on 17th April 1967 and hails from Birnin Kebbi in Kebbi State. He attended Nassarawa Primary School, Birnin Kebbi and College of Arts and Arabic Studies, Sokoto where he obtained a Grade II Teachers Certificate in 1984.
Malami studied law at the Usman Danfodio University Sokoto and attended the Nigeria Law School in 1992.
He holds a Masters Degree in Public Administration from the University of Maiduguri.
A member of the distinguished Body of Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SAN), he has co-authored several publications.
Abubakar Salami, SAN, has served as the National Legal Adviser to the defunct The Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) and also the Chairman, Legal Team of the defunct CPC Presidential Campaign Organization, 2011. He was Deputy Director, Legal Directorate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Presidential Campaign Council 2015, and Member of the APC Transition Committee in 2015.


The Federal Ministry of Justice is responsible for ensuring justice for all. It provides a sound legal framework to maintain the rule of law as well as economic and social reform. Some of the duties that fall within the realm of the ministry include the prosecution of criminal case, Defence of civil suits, provision of legal advice to government organisations and institutions, drafting of Bills, handling of complaints of breaches of Citizens’ Rights, publication of revised laws and White Papers for the Ministry of Justice.

To provide fair, timely, accessible, and equal justice for all Nigerians.

Council of Legal Education (CLE)
National Agency for Prohibition of Trafficking In Persons and Other Related Matters (NAPTIP)
National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA)
National Human Rights Commission (NHRC)
Nigerian Copyright Commission (NCC)
Nigeria Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (NIALS)
Nigeria Law Reform Commission (NLRC)