Federal Ministry of Transportation

Federal Ministry of Transport
Dipcharima House,

Central Business District, 

P.M.B. 0336,Garki – Abuja.Nigeria.

Telephone: +234 9 2347451 

Fax: +234 9 2347453

Website: http://www.transport.gov.ng


Hon. Rotimi Amaechi

Honourable Minister of Transportation 

Hon Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi was born on 27th May 1965 at Umuordu-Ubima in Ikwerre Local Government Area of Rivers State.Amaechi graduated from University of Port Harcourt where he obtained Bachelors and Masters Degree in English.He started work as a Public Relations Officer (PRO) with Pamo Clinics and Hospitals Ltd, Port Harcourt 1988.In 1992 Amaechi was appointed Special assistant to the Governor of Rivers State at that time, Chief Rufus Ada-George. He was also Personal assistant to the Deputy Governor of Rivers State, Sir Peter Odili.Rt Hon Chibuike Amaechi joined politics in 1999 under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). He emerged the Speaker, Rivers State House of assembly for two terms. He was elected Governor of Rivers State also for two terms during which he was Chairman, Nigerian Governors Forum from May 2011 to May 2015.

Senator Hadi Sirika

Honourable Minister of State for Aviation

SirikaBorn March 2, 1964 in Katsina, Senator Sirika is a trained pilot. He obtained Aircraft Engineering Maintenance License Certificate from the Flight Safety International Limited in the United States of America.Senator Sirika has vast experiences in road and aviation transport management, having served as the Managing Director of a privately-owned company – Prakia Geo-Mechanik International Limited from 1998 to 1999 and General Manager of Katsina State Transport Authority from 1999 to 2000.He was elected Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria in 2011 to represent Katsina North on the platform of the defunct Congress for Progressive Change (CPC). He was also in the House of Representatives between 2003 to 2007 on the platform of the defunct All Nigeria Peoples Party.Senator Sirika is an avid polo player.


Federal Ministry of Transport is responsible for rail and marine transport and inter modern co-ordination. The mandate, policies, programmes and budgets of the ministry are implemented through the various agencies at the ministry which include Nigeria Railway Nigeria Ports Authority, Nigeria Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), Nigeria Shippers Council, National Inland Waterways Authority, Nigeria Institute of Transport Technology, Zaria and Maritime Academy of Nigeria, Oron.VISION:To evolve a world class transportation system in Nigeria and to position it as a hub in West and Central Africa.

MISSION:To establish a safe, efficient, affordable and seamless intermodal transport system in line with global best practices while creating an enabling environment for Public Private Partnership.


National Clearing and Forwarding Agency

National Maritime Authority

Nigeria Ports Plc

Nigeria Railway Corporation (NRC)

Nigeria Shippers Council (NSC)


Aviation Arm

Annex 3,

New Federal Secretariat,

Shehu Shagari Way,

Central Area,

P.M.B. 229Garki  – Abuja Nigeria 

Telephone: +234 9 5237112

Fax: +234 9 5233644

Website: www.aviation.gov.ng


The Nigerian Federal Ministry of Aviation is a ministry of the Nigerian Government that regulates air travel and aviation services in Nigeria. The ministry is responsible for formulation and management of the government’s aviation policies in Nigeria. It is directly responsible for overseeing air transportation, airport development, maintenance, provision of aviation infrastructural services and other needs. The ministry is headed by a Minister appointed by the President, assisted by a Permanent Secretary, who is a career civil servant. The Ministry is responsible for parastatals such as the Nigerian College of Aviation Technology.VISION:To be the best Aviation Industry in Africa and one of the best in the world.


To build a safe, secured and efficient aviation industry focused on making Nigeria a hub that meets International Standards and Best Practices for the African continent.


Nigerian metrological agencies

Nigeria college of aviation technology

Nigerian airspace management agency

Federal airport authority of Nigeria

Nigeria civil aviation authority

Accident investigation bureau