Federal Ministry of Petroleum Resources

Ministry of Petroleum Resources
Central Business District
P. M. B. 449,

Website: http://petroleumresources.gov.ng/

E-mail: [email protected]

President Muhammadu Buhari

Minister of Petroleum


Hon. Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu
Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum 

Dr. Ibe Kachikwu was born on the 18th of December, 1956 at Onicha-Ugbo, Delta State. He had his primary education at St. Pius Xth Grammar School, Delta before proceeding to Edo College, Benin City for his Secondary School education.

Kachukwu studied law at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, where he graduated top of his class in 1978. In the same year, he proceeded to the Nigerian Law School where he graduated top of the class again, bagging 5 of the available 7 top prizes.

Dr Kachukwu also attended Harvard University, Cambridge, where he obtained a Masters Degree in Law and a Doctorate Degree in Law respectively Kachikwu is The Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC).


Prior to his appointment as the GMD of NNPC, he was the Executive Vice Chairman of Mobil Producing Nigeria Unlimited and the General Counsel for ExxonMobil Nigeria.

We are Determined to make far reaching changes and ensure the fundamental transformation of Nigerian oil and gas industry on exploration, exploitation, production and distribution of products to bring it in line with the 21st Century global industrial practices


We use the revenue from crude oil for the development of our great nation Nigeria

The mandate of the Ministry of Petroleum Resources is to transform the oil and gas industry for the increased benefit of Nigeria and its people through effective implementation of policies on hydrocarbon exploration, exploitation, production, distribution and utilization in accordance with international standards


Nigeria National Petroluem Corporation

Department of Petroleum Resources

Petroleum Training Institute

Petroleum Technology Development Fund

Petroleum Equalisation Fund (Management) Board

Nigeria Nuclear Regulatory Authority

Petroleum Product Price Regulatory Agency

Nigerian Content Development Management Board