Federal Ministry of Environment

Federal Ministry of Environment,
Email: [email protected]

Hon. Amina J. Mohammed

Honourable Minister of Environment
OFR, was born on 27th of June 1961 in Gombe, Gombe State. She attended Capital School, Kaduna in 1972 for her Primary Six Certificate and Buchan School Isle of Manchester, UK in 1979 for the Ordinary Level Certificate. She further attended Henley Management College also in UK in 1989.
A versatile and accomplished mobilizer and Project Coordinator, Mrs Amina Mohammed had served as the Senior Special assistant to the President on MDGs between 2005 to 201. She has also served as National Commissioner, Human Rights Commission of Nigeria from 2005 to 2007. Mrs Amina Mohammed is the assistant Secretary/Special Advisor to the United Nations, Secretary General in New York, USA.

Hon. Ibrahim Jibrin

Honurable Minister of State for Environment 
Mallam Ibrahim Usman Jibril was Born 27th January 1958 in Nasarawa State. He attended Community Secondary School Nasarawa and the College of Preliminary Studies Yola, Adamawa State.

He also attended Bayero University Kano, where he obtained a Bachelor’s Degree in Education majoring in Geography. He later obtained a Master of Science Degree in Land Resources with specialization in Land Administration.
Mallam Ibrahim Jibril has worked as a teacher and instructor in Geography at a number of educational institutions in Nasarawa State and the Federal Capital Territory Abuja.

In 2012, he was appointed Senior Special assistant to the Governor of Nasarawa State and doubled as Project Manager of Nasarawa Geographic Information System (NAGIS) where he established the Nasarawa Development Platform (ND)

The Federal Ministry of Environment was established at the inception of the Civilian Administration under the leadership of Chief Olusegun Obasanjo in June 1999 to ensure effective coordination of all environmental matters, which hitherto were fragmented and resident in different line Ministries. The creation was intended to ensure that environmental matters are adequately mainstreamed into all developmental activities.

In line with the above and in consonance with the administration’s policy thrust of Environmental Renewal and Development Initiative (ERDI), the Ministry has the following mandate to:

* Prepare a comprehensive National Policy for the protection of the environment and conservation of natural resources, including procedure for environmental impact assessment of all developing projects.
* Prepare in accordance with the National Policy on Environment, periodic master plans for redevelopment of environmental science and technology and advise the Federal Government on the financial requirements for the implementation of such plans.

* Advise the Federal Government on National Environmental Policies and priorities, the conservation of natural resources and sustainable development and scientific and technological activities affecting the environment and natural resources.
* Promote cooperation in environmental science and conservation technology with similar bodies in other countries and with international bodies connected with the protection of the environment and the conservation of natural resources.

* Cooperate with Federal and State Ministries, Local Government, statutory bodies and research agencies on matters and facilities relating to the protection of the environment and the conservation of natural resources.
* Prescribe standards for and make regulations on water quality, effluent limitations, air quality, atmospheric protection, ozone protection, noise control as well as the removal and control of hazardous substances, and
* Monitor and enforce environmental protection measures.

To ensure a Nigeria that develops in harmony with the environment.

To ensure environmental protection and natural resources conservation for a sustainable development.

Parastatals under the Federal Ministry of Environment

1. Environmental Health Officers Registration Council (EHORECON)
2. National Park Services (NPS)
3. Forestry Research Institute of Nigeria (FRIN)
4. National Oil Spill Detection and Response Agency (NOSDRA)
5. National Environmental Standards and Regulations Enforcement Agency (NESREA)