The National Assembly

The National Assembly

The 8th National Assembly of the Federal Republic of Nigeria is a bicameral legislature inaugurated on June 9, 2015 and the assembly will run its course till June 9, 2019. The assembly comprises the Senate and the House of Representatives. The National Assembly comprises 300 members elected across the 6 geopolitical zones of Nigeria. The House of Representative consists of 251 elected members and the Senate, a total of 109 members from which 59 were elected on the platform of the APC and 49 were elected on the platform of People's Democratic Party following the sudden death of Senator Ahmed Zanna elected on the platform of PDP to represent Borno Central. Five of the senators are women.

The Senate (The Red Chamber)

The Senate is the upper chamber of the National Assembly comprising of 109 Distinguished Senators, Members all elected from the 36 states and Federal Capital Territory (FCT) of Nigeria. Each of the 36 states of the Federal Republic of Nigeria produces three Senators, each belonging to one of the three main Districts of the State. A total of 108 Senators emerge from 36 states with an addition of one, the Senator of the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, making up a total 109 Senators in the Senate. The Senate is presided upon by the Senate President.









Bukola Saraki
Senate President

Bukola Saraki (born Olubukola Abubakar Saraki, 19 December 1962) is a Nigerian politician who has been President of the Senate of Nigeria since 2015. Previously he was Governor of Kwara State from 2003 to 2011. He was first elected to the Senate in April 2011, representing the Kwara Central senatorial district, and he was re-elected in the March 2015 elections. He is a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

He attended King's College, Lagos, from 1973 to 1978, and Cheltenham College, Cheltenham, London from 1979 to 1981 for his High School Certificate. He then studied at the London Hospital Medical College of the University of London from 1982 to 1987, when he obtained his M.B.B.S (London).

House of Representatives (The Green Chamber)

The House of Representatives of the National Assembly is the lower chamber of the National Assembly the supreme law-making body of the land. The current House of Representatives of the National Assembly was inaugurated on the 6th June 2011. Out of the 360 members of the House of Representatives, 100 were re-elected while 260 were elected for the first time.








Rt. Hon Yakubu Dogara
Speaker House of Representatives

Yakubu Dogara (born 26 December 1967) is a Nigerian politician who has been Speaker of the House of Representatives of Nigeria since 2015. In the House of Representatives, he represents Bogoro/Dass/Tafawa-Balewa Federal constituency of Bauchi State. He is a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Dogara has been a member of the House of Representatives since 2007. His legislative interests include tenancy, regulating monopolies, company law, and intellectual property. He has sponsored many bills and undertaken several assignments. He is also a member of the Nigerian Bar Association, the International Bar Association, the Nigerian Institute of Management, the Chartered Institute of Mediators and Conciliators, the Cyber Bar Association and the Social Policy Association. He is also an associate member of the Institute of Environment Management and Assessment, and the World Jurist Association, among others.

He also serves as the Secretary of the Board of Trustees and Legal Adviser to FAcE-PAM, an NGO operating in Bauchi State.

About Nigeria

Nigeria, commonly known as the giant of Africa with more than 150 million people is the most populous country in Africa. With one of the biggest democracies in the world and a presidential system of government, it has a dual economy, based on its rich natural resources, traditional agriculture and the trade sector.